Leadership Manual

By-Laws Committee

Current Chair

  • 2014-2015 Chair Laura Dorfman, California Marymount University

Previous Chairs

  • 2013-2014 Chair: Robert Stephens, UC Riverside

  • 2012-2013 Chair: Tyler Miller, CSU Fresno

  • 2011-2012 Chair: Josh O'Connor, UC Davis

  • 2010-2011 Chair: Emily Sandoval, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

  • 2009-2010 Chair: Dana Pysz, UCLA

  • 2008-2009 Chair: Staci Buchwald, Scripps College

  • 2007-2008 Chair: James Smith, UC Riverside

  • 2006-2007 Chair: Stuart Huggins, Pepperdine University

  • 2005-2006 Chair: Martin Castillo, San Jose State University


  • Travel - No

  • Programming - No

  • Communication by phone, mail, fax, e-mail


To provide an opportunity for Association members to recommend amendments to the Association’s By-Laws through a review process and report to the membership at the Annual Conference and Exposition.


  • Responsible for the annual review of the Association’s By-Laws.

  • Establish and oversee the committee during the review process.

  • Make appropriate recommendations for the changes in those governing documents to the WACUHO President (January).

  • Ensure that proposed changes are published in the pre-conference Waves newsletter.

  • Present proposed changes to the membership at the Annual Business Meeting (March/April) for discussion and vote.

  • Once the changes have been approved, the chair is responsible to see that the documents are updated and distributed as part of the first post-conference newsletter.

Prepare and submit two copies of an annual report to the Vice President by May 1 which summarizes the committee’s activity during the year. Report will be shared with the incoming chair.