top of page

Awards Updates


The purpose of this award is to give special recognition to a current member of the association who has made significant contributions to the Western Association of College and University Housing Officers through their dedicated service and outstanding leadership.



  • Any housing professional from any currently active WACUHO member institution may submit nominations.

  • A minimum of five letters of recommendation must be submitted for each nominee. In addition, the recommendation letters must come from individuals representing at least four different WACUHO member institutions, and at least one of the recommendation letters must come from the nominee\’s current or past supervisor(s).

  • The nominee must have been an active member of WACUHO for at least five years.

  • The nominee must have served on at least three different WACUHO committees or task forces.

  • The nominee must have chaired at least two WACUHO committees/task forces or served on the Executive Committee. (Current members of the Executive Committee are not eligible to receive the award during their year of service.)

  • The nominee's contributions to WACUHO should reflect a high degree of commitment and service to the Association and should extend well beyond regular involvement such as attending WACUHO sponsored programs and events, presenting at WACUHO Annual Conference and Exposition and Expositions, and being active in Association committees.

In addition to letters of recommendation detailing the nominee’s fitness to receive the Charles L. Miller Award, please submit the following form : Charles L. Miller Leadership and Service Award Nomination Form 

Awards Descriptions

Joan F. Mortell Award 

In 2002, the Executive Committee voted to rename the WTI New Professional Award in honor of Joan F. Mortell. Joan was actively involved with ACUHO-I and CACUHO (later renamed WACUHO) and was instrumental in founding CACUHO’s Western Training Institute. She is honored as the 15th President of CACUHO in 1971-72 and was the second woman to serve in that capacity.

John Yarborough Award

The John Yarborough Award is named after John Yarborough, the first President of the Association in 1953 Along with colleagues, Christine Ricker and Don Watts, John was the impetus in establishing a vision to create an organization that would bring together housing colleagues to discuss and solve difficulties each was experiencing. As Director of Residence at Stanford University, John hosted the first annual "conference." He was a strong believer that many common problems could be solved by "pooling our experiences."

Charles L. Miller Award 

The Charles L. Miller Award is named in memory of Mr. Charles L. Miller, the 30th President of the Association. Throughout his career, Charles L. Miller, better known as "Charlie," exemplified the highest level of dedication to our profession, provided outstanding leadership and role modeling for seasoned veterans and new professionals alike and was known for his tremendous sense of humor. His death at such a young age only served to accentuate the wonderful contributions, accomplishments, and valuable service he gave to our Association. In fond memory and respect to him and his family, this award has been bestowed on those who, like Charlie, have made a difference in the Association as well as in the lives of colleagues and the student population that the Association serves. A $250 donation is made every year to the ACUHO-I Foundation of Excellence in honor of the WACUHO Charles L. Miller Award winner.

R.W. Gang Award 

The R.W. Gang Award is named in memory of Mr. R.W. Gang the 12th President of the Association. RW served CACUHO and WACUHO faithfully through the years as a university housing staff member involved in several aspects of the organization. Later in life, R.W. continued his relationship with the organization as a vendor and corporate friend. It is for R.W.’s enthusiasm, humor, love for his colleagues and dedication to Housing that an award is honored in his name. A $250 donation is made every year to the ACUHO-I Foundation of Excellence in honor of the WACUHO RW Gang Award winner.


Strategic Cohorts Award 

This award provides funding in the form of a $1000 scholarship to assist an ACUHO-I  institutional member from WACUHO to attend AC&E. This award provides an opportunity for WACUHO to send a professional who would benefit from the experience and perhaps otherwise may not be able to attend. This award aligns with providing incentives to engage strategic member cohorts as identified by the ACUHO-I Executive Board. This award is funded by the ACUHO-I International Research and Education Foundation. The award recipient from the WACUHO region shall meet at least one of the following criteria:

  • Be a professional of color 

  • Be a professional working full-time at a small college or university (under 2,000 bed) or an HBCU, Tribal or religious university 

  • Be a new or advancing professional 

  • Be a professional with an accepted presentation proposal to the current year AC&E


Volunteer of the Year Award

The purpose of this award is to give the chairs of the various WACUHO committees an opportunity to bestow a special recognition upon a committee member who has made a significant contribution to the success of a committee. The recipient of this award is typically someone with whom the committee would have had difficulties achieving their goals had the individual not been involved.

Jim "JB" Brock Spirit of WACUHO Award

The Jim "JB" Brock Spirit of WACUHO Award honors an Association member who characterizes the ideals of partnership, teamwork and imagination, qualities that embody both the Organization and the award’s namesake. Jim "JB" Brock, 40th President of the Association (1996-1997), was truly a legend in his own time, deeply impacting everyone with whom he worked. Known for his infectious laugh and beaming, ever-present smile, JB was a WACUHO mainstay who shaped and guided the Association for three decades in innumerable spotlight and background roles. With an exuberant personality that made everyone feel welcomed and valued, JB enthusiastically mentored generations of new professionals and caringly supported his friends and colleagues. The Jim "JB" Brock Award winner is selected by the Executive Committee to recognize members whose significant contributions to the Association reflect JB’s legacy.

bottom of page